Lakota storybooks created by Dupree students

The Dupree High School Lakota I and II classes wrote two short stories this year and, with guidance from their instructor Marion Blue Arm, are getting them developed into real storybooks and published to help people learn Lakota language in an entertaining way. The first book is entitled “Matȟóla Ločhíŋ” and is about Matȟóla, a hungry boy. The book tells […]

Cheyenne River Youth Project announces that Midnight Basketball will return on Friday, June 11

On Friday, June 11, the Cheyenne River Youth Project will welcome teens back to its Eagle Butte campus en masse for the first time in nearly 15 months. Summer is here, Covid-19 is on the wane, and it’s time for Midnight Basketball.  The fun will begin at 9 p.m. and run until 1 a.m. on Saturday, June 12 — and it will […]

This spring, the Cheyenne River Youth Project transformed “Passion for Fashion” for the Covid Era

Like organizations and individuals around the world, the Cheyenne River Youth Project had to dramatically shift gears during the last 15 months due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Some programs had to be suspended, while others transformed to become socially distanced or virtual initiatives. At no point, however, did CRYP stop innovating.  This was particularly true with Wiŋčhíŋčala Teȟíla Ukiya, the […]

2021 C-EB Prom

PHOTOS COURTESY OF C-EB SCHOOLS C-EB High School hosted their annual prom on May 29. Left: C-EB Seniors that attended prom. Back row (L-R): Mahki Hollow Horn, Jaxon Garreau, Winston Fischer, Lakota Makes Room For Them, Sequoia Sampson, Jay’Ellen Red Fox, Brooklyn Harrison, Chyrah Castro, Summer Holzer, Adrianna Eagleman. Front row (L-R): Casmere Dauphinais, Try Zephier, Staesha High Elk, Sakiya Martin, […]

Berndt awarded by Governor Noem for academic excellence

PHOTOS SUBMITTED BY BARB BERNDT Caleb Berndt was invited to the 2021 Academic Excellence event held by the Associated School Boards of South Dakota in conjunction with Governor Kristi Noem at the Capitol Building in Pierre on April 30. The 31st annual Academic Excellence Recognition event honored the top 1 percent of students, academically, in the 2021 graduating class! To […]

Cheyenne-Eagle Butte Upper Elementary 2020-2021 “Hero Award” recipients

The Upper Elementary of C-EB Schools is proud to announce the “Hero Award” recipients for the 2020-2021 academic year! The following staff members were recognized for their contributions above and beyond to ensure our school year was a technological success: Mr. Kent Joens, IT Coordinator, and Mr. Wes Heidlebaugh (Mr. H.), Computers teacher. C-EB Schools experienced an unprecedented school year due to […]

2021 Dupree Rodeo Team

School is out for summer!

Mental Health Awareness

Canli Coalition coloring contest winners

Category Pages are limited to 90 days. Please use the archive page or the search box to find older articles.