Thursday, June 4, 2020

Eagle Butte

ZCHS names 2019 Historian of the Year

Darla Vrooman

Darla Vrooman has been named the Ziebach County Historical Society 2019 Historian of the Year. She was nominated by Bev Birkeland and Shawn Olsen, both who praised her contributions to the Pioneer Days Fun Runs, annual Ziebach County Bus Tours, and since 2004, her active participation in the Historical Society.

With Vrooman’s help, the Fun Run grows bigger each year, wrote Birkeland, and Olsen pointed out that she sees the importance of keeping old treasures to preserve the past for the future.

Previous Historians of the Year include Thelma Frame, Virginia Woodward, Faye Longbrake, Shirley Menzel, Gary Birkeland, Beverly Lindblom, Quinn Lenk, Trula Fields, Dondra Menzel, Donovin Sprague, Elaine (Sever) Floyd, Ann Fleming Congdon, Mable Ross and Lawrence (Woody) Woodward.