Monday, January 18, 2021

Mesonet at SD State Eagle Butte realtime weather web widget

USDA Agriculture News

The Corson, Dewey, Meade, Perkins, and Ziebach County FSA offices would like to keep you informed of the following items important to USDA programs.  If you have any questions please contact the Corson County office at 605-273-4506 ext 2, Dewey County office at 865-3522 ext 2, Meade County at 347-4952 ext 2, Perkins at 244-5222 ext 2 or Ziebach County at 365-5179 ext 2.




March 23 – Whip+ signup began

March 30 – CRP Soil Health and Income Protection Program SHIPP signup began

April 1 – CRP Re-Enroll for Continuous contracts

May 26 – Coronavirus Food Assistance Program (CFAP) signup began

July 15 – Deadline to report 2020 acreage report (August 14 to report without late-filing fees)

August 1 – Final Date to Submit COC Nominations

August 2 – 2020 CRP Managed Haying and Grazing may begin, contact your local FSA office first!

August 21 – CRP Soil Health and Income Protection Program SHIPP signup ends

August 28 – Coronavirus Food Assistance Program (CFAP) signup ends

September 7 – Service Center Closed in observance of Labor Day

September 30 – Deadline to update PLC yields

July 2020 Loan and Interest Rates

Commodity Loans: 1.125%

Farm Storage Facility Loans

• 3 Years: 0.250%

• 5 Years: 0.375%

• 7 Years: 0.500%

• 10 Years: 0.750%

Direct Operating Loans: 1.375%

Farm Ownership Down Payment: 1.500%

Farm Ownership Joint Financing: 2.500%

Direct Farm Ownership Loans: 2.250%

Emergency Loans Actual Loss: 2.3750%

2018 Farm Bill Changes (Farm Loans): The Direct Operating Loan limit increased to $400,000 and the Guaranteed Operating loan limit increased to $1,750,000.  The Direct Farm Ownership Loan limit increased to $600,000 and the Guaranteed Farm Ownership loan limit increased to $1,750,000.

Nominations Open for the 2020 County Committee Elections

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) encourages all farmers, ranchers, and FSA program participants to take part in the Ziebach County Committee election nomination process.

FSA’s county committees are a critical component of the day-to-day operations of FSA and allow grassroots input and local administration of federal farm programs.

Committees are comprised of locally elected agricultural producers responsible for the fair and equitable administration of FSA farm programs in their counties. Committee members are accountable to the Secretary of Agriculture. If elected, members become part of a local decision making and farm program delivery process.

A county committee is composed of three to 11 elected members from local administrative areas (LAA). Each member serves a three-year term. One-third of the seats on these committees are open for election each year.

The Ziebach County Committee has 4 members, Bryant Schauer, Chairman, Joe Wishard, Vice Chair, Deon Dorsey and Kris Schrempp.  The Ziebach County Committee has 2 seats open for election; LAA 1 represented by Deon Dorsey and LAA 3 represented by Joe Wishard.

Deon was elected to the Committee in 2017 and has served one term 2018 – 2020.  Joe was elected to the Committee in 2014 and has served two terms beginning in 2015 – 2020.  Both are eligible to run again.  County Committee members cannot serve more than three consecutive terms.

The Dewey County Committee has 3 members, Grant Martin, Chairman, Kim Peterson, Vice Chairman, and Toby Keller. The Dewey County Committee has 1 seat open for election in LAA 1 represented by Kim Peterson.

Kim was elected to the Committee in 2014 and has served 2 terms beginning in 2015-2020. Kim is eligible to run again. County Committee members cannot serve more than three consecutive terms.

County committees may have an appointed advisor to further represent the local interests of underserved farmers and ranchers. Underserved producers are beginning, women and other minority farmers and ranchers and landowners and/or operators who have limited resources.

All nomination forms for the 2020 election must be postmarked or received in the local USDA Service Center by Aug. 1, 2020 (or next business day). For more information on FSA county committee elections and appointments, refer to the FSA fact sheet: Eligibility to Vote and Hold Office as a COC Member available online at:

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.  To file a complaint of discrimination, write:  USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250-9410, or call (866) 632-9992 or (toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *