Monday, August 3, 2020

Mesonet at SD State Eagle Butte realtime weather web widget

Two Eagle Butte residents chosen for prestigious Bush Fellowships

Eileen Briggs

Eileen Briggs

Eileen Briggs, Director of CRST Tribal Ventures, and Julie Garreau, Executive Director of the Cheyenne River Youth Project (CRYP) were among 24 organizational leaders selected for the 2016 Bush Fellowships.

The 24 leaders were chosen for their records of achievement and their extraordinary potential to make significant contributions in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and 23 Native nations that share the same geography.

Briggs and Garreau were the only two fellows selected in South 


Briggs has served as the Director of Tribal for the past 13 years.

“I am very humbled that I was selected. It is an honor,” 


aid Briggs. “I am excited to learn about ways to 

create change, not only in our community, but in communities in SD and beyond.”

Briggs said there are a lot of different issues and hard conversations about racial divides, community development, and healing that need to happen. 

“I would like to use this fellowship to to help build my skills to help faciliate those conversations,” said Briggs.

With the Fellowship, Briggs plans to visit indigenous communities across Indian Country to learn about facing adversity, especially through women’s healing ceremonies. She will also enhance her facilitation and writing skills in order to help guide transformational conversations at home. 

Garreau has served as the Executive Director of the CRYP since it first started in 1988. 

“I’m overwhelmed by the whole thing,” said Garreau. “I’m really honored to get selected out of that many applicants. It is a really great opportunity to enhance my leadership skills.”

Garreau will use her fellowship to study Lakota teachings and effective Western leadership models, leveraging both to foster the next generation of leaders.

Fellows will receive up to $100,000 over 12–24 months to pursue learning experiences that will help them develop stronger leadership skills and attributes. The Fellowship can be used toward furthering education, networking opportunities, and access to leadership resources, workshops and trainings.

“The value of investing in people is apparent when you look at the accomplishments of Bush Fellows and their impact on our region over that past 50 years,” said Bush Foundation President Jennifer Ford Reedy in a press release.

 “We are thrilled to support this class of Fellows as they pursue the knowledge, connections and experiences that will help them be more effective leaders.”

A total of 465 people applied for the 2016 Bush Fellowship. These 24 Fellows were selected through a multi-stage process involving Bush Fellow alumni, Bush Foundation staff and established regional leaders. Applicants described their leadership vision and passion and how a Bush Fellowship would help them achieve their goals.

More than 2,200 people have taken advantage of the Fellowship to become better leaders through a self-designed learning experience, academic program or travel across the country to build connections with thought leaders on topics critical to their community. The Bush Fellowship counts among its alumni former Minnesota Governor Arne Carlson, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright August Wilson, and President Obama’s Special Assistant to for Native American Affairs Karen Diver. 

The Bush Foundation will accept applications for the 2017 Bush Fellowship beginning August 30, 2016. The Bush Fellowship is open to anyone age 24 years and older who lives in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota or one of the 23 Native nations that shares the same geography.

Julie Garreau

Julie Garreau