Saturday, July 20, 2019

Eagle Butte

Dupree Community Blurps

ZCHS seeking 2018 Historian of the Year

The Ziebach County Historical Society is seeking nominations for 2018 Historian of the Year.  Nominations can be sent to ZCHS, P.O. Box 452, Dupree, SD 57623 or e-mailed to or given to one of the Board members: Darla Vrooman, Robert Shannon, Twila Schuler, Dondra Menzel, Kim Shannon, Evelyn Anderson or Shawn Olsen.  Nominations must be received by 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, January 15, 2019 and should describe the nominee’s contributions in preserving the history of Ziebach County.  The Historian of the Year will be named and recognized and honored at the Annual Meeting to be held in the Spring.  Prior honored Historians are: 2005 Thelma Frame, 2006 Virginia Woodward, 2007 Faye Longbrake, 2008 Shirley Menzel, 2009 Gary Birkeland, 2010 Beverly Lindblom, 2011 Quinn Lenk, 2012 Trula Horn Fields, 2013 Dondra Menzel, 2014 Donovin Sprague, 2015 Elaine Sever Floyd, 2016 Ann Fleming Congdon, and 2017 Mable Ross.


Roundtable meeting planned

A Pioneer Days Roundtable Meeting will be held at 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, January 22, 2019 at Harry’s Hall.  This meeting is to begin planning events for the June 22 and 23, 2019 Pioneer Days weekend. It is important for all groups or individuals that are planning events to attend this meeting!!  Please pass the word!


Dupree Blood Drive January 23

The Dupree blood drive will be on Wednesday, January 23 at the Catholic Church Hall from 1:15 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.  This is a different time frame than usual, and it is very important that donors come and make it successful.  There is NO substitute for human blood and studies indicate that up to 90 percent of the population will use blood before age 70.  Appointments can be made online at and use sponsor code: dupree or call Twila Schuler at 365-5463.