Saturday, June 19, 2021

Mesonet at SD State Eagle Butte realtime weather web widget

Dupree Boosters host athletic banquet

The Dupree Booster Club held a beautiful banquet on Thursday, May 6, with wonderful food and many proud parents and athletes in attendance. To welcome guests, the gym was decorated in full Dupree Tiger spirit with lots of purple and gold and a tiger theme.

DHS Booster Club President Kim McDaniel opened the night with a few words and recognized the outgoing seniors who were present. DHS Athletic Director Calby Farlee did a wonderful presentation about sportsmanship. Following Farlee, Shannon Hinrichs shared information about the new Vern Petersen Memorial Award which was presented to JW Pederson later in the evening. Farlee also spoke about plans for the powerlifting team to return next school year, when the new weightlifting room is completed and more events are expected to be held.

During the evening the Dupree Booster Club scholarships, worth $500 each, were presented to Malory Peacock and Megan Hinrichs. While guests enjoyed their meal, coaches from each sport got up and presented special awards to the athletes — with some fun commentary, of course! The awards are as follows.

XC: Most Dedicated Female-Lourdes Dupris; Most Dedicated Male-TayShaun Cudmore; Most Valuable Female Runner-Rae Lynn Vines; Most Valuable Male Runner-Levi Elk Nation; Most Improved-Case DePoy.

Football Cheerleaders: Most Spirit Award and Outstanding Leadership-Malory Peacock; Most Enthusiasm-Tristan Little Wounded; Most Energetic-Trinity Leithauser; Most Spirit and Outstanding Leadership-Erin Lemke.

Basketball Cheerleaders: Most Spirit-Trinity Leithauser; Most Improved-Sadie Anderson; Most Enthusiasm-Tristan Little Wounded; Most Spirit and Outstanding Leadership-Erin Lemke.

Football: Mr. Offense-Cinch Hebb; Mr. Defense-Hunter Stambach; Best Offensive Lineman-Haydon Starr; Special Teams Ace-Cinch Hebb; Comeback Player of the Year-Treg Thorstenson; Most Improved-Tyler Stambach; Mr. Hustle-JW Pederson.

Volleyball: Most Improved-MacKenzie Longbrake; Toughness-Kaya Cuny; Best Defensive Player-Taylee Jewett; Play Maker-Kennedy McLellan; Best Sportsmanship-Chloe Dupree.

Boys Basketball: Offensive Player of the Year-Spencer Moran; MVP-Spencer Moran; Team Leader and Defensive Player of the Year-Cinch Hebb; Best Sportsmanship-Xander Red Horse; Coaches Award-Josh Morrison; Most Improved-Tyler Stambach; The Vern Petersen Memorial Award-JW Pederson.

Girls Basketball: Most Improved-Taylee Jewett; Best Sportsmanship-Jay’Ellen Red Fox; Best Defensive Player-Rae Lynn Vines; Best Offensive Player-Daci Lends His Horse; MVP-Chloe Dupree.

Wrestling: Most Dedicated-Tripp Schrempp; MVP of the year and a State Qualifier-Hunter Stambach; State Qualifier-Eulayla Maynard; Most Improved-Cameron Dekle.

Track and Field: Since there was not a 2020 track season, the Track team did not have awards. However, their coaches shared a bit about the 2021 season. The relay team broke the 1985 800m Relay record and then went on to break their own record again. The team hopes to break it again before the season ends.

See photos on pages B3 and B4.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *