Thursday, June 4, 2020

Eagle Butte

DHS hosts Athletic Banquet and Awards Ceremony

The Dupree Athletic Boosters sponsored the second annual DHS Athletic Banquet and Awards Ceremony on Monday, April 29.  The evening is set aside to honor and recognize the Varsity and Junior Varsity athletes in each program.  Junior High students that played either JV or Varsity were welcome to attend.  However, JH athletes will be honored at the Activities Award Night that will be held on Thursday, May 9 at 7 pm at DHS.

The Dupree Boosters furnished a prime rib meal with the sides and the TRIO organization furnished cake for dessert.  After enjoying their meal, the awards ceremony was held and Kim McDaniel, Dupree Athletic Boosters Club president, was the emcee for the evening and then each coach presented their own awards. 

When Dupree’s Athletic Director took to the podium, Mr. Karas shared that a number of the athletic teams had received SDHSAS Academic Excellence Status.  Those teams were:  Girls’ BB, Boys’ BB, Boys’ BB Cheerleaders, Football Cheerleaders, Volleyball, and the Cross-Country Team. 

Mrs. Deal presented cross country (XC) awards and did their parents night during the ceremony.  At the end of the evening, the recipients of the Dupree Athletic Booster Club Scholarships were announced and they were CL Pederson and Tayla Thorstenson.

The awards received during the athletic banquet are listed alphabetically by student names: Wakinyan Afraid of Hawk – track letter. Jacob Anderson – BB letter and Best Defense Plaque and a XC letter. Kelci Bends – VB letter and BB letter.  Clifton Birkeland – BB letter and Most Hustle plaque, track letter and ‘Most Dedicated/Improved in Track’, XC letter and placed 76th at the state meet and got the ‘For the Team’ plaque. Kadynse Buffalo – VB letter and VB MVP and a BB letter. Shantell Brewer – XC letter and placed 88th at the state meet and got the ‘Eye of the Tiger’ award for XC and a BB letter and Best Defense for BB. Bennett Brooks – BB Letter and BB ‘Most Improved’ Plaque. Isaac Brown – BB letter and Best Offense Plaque, track letter, and a XC letter. Kae Lynn Clown – BB Cheer-leader letter. Kaya Cuny – Most Improved in VB.  Chloe Dupree – VB letter. MacKenzie Dupris – VB letter. McKenna Dupris – VB letter and Best VB Offense and a BB letter and Best Offense for BB. Sidni Ferguson – BB letter and BB MVP. Cinch Hebb – BB letter and FB letter. Megan Hinrichs – Powerlifting medal and sharing that she placed second in her class this year at state, and VB Best Sportsmanship. Evan Hollow Horn – Powerlifting medal and FB letter. Tiana Iron Hawk – track letter and a XC letter. Angel Johnson – Powerlifting medal. Cade Johnson – Powerlifting medal and sharing that he placed 5th in the state in the HWT division this year and a FB letter. Trigg LaPlante – BB certificate. Alan Lemke – FB Cheerleader Mascot lette. Erin Lemke – FB Cheerleader letter and Cheer Captain and a BB Cheerleader letter. Tristan Little Wounded – FB Cheerleader letter and ‘Most Improved’ in Cheering and BB Cheerleader letter. Justin Matonis – FB letter.  Kateri Matonis – track letter. Chessa McDaniel – Powerlifting medal, track letter and 2018 track ‘Outstanding Female Thrower’, and a VB letter and Best VB Defense. Macy Martin – track letter and 2018 ‘Outstanding Female Performer’ for track, XC letter and placed 25th at the state meet and was chosen for ‘Best XC Commitment’. Khalen Martin – 2018 track letter and ‘Outstanding Male Performer’ for track in 2018. Keenan McDaniel – 2018 track letter. Malory Peacock – Powerlifting medal, track letter and ‘Most Improved Female’ for Track, and a FB Cheerleader letter. Max Peacock – Powerlifting medal, track letter, and 2018 track ‘Outstanding Male Thrower’. CL Pederson – Powerlifting trophy for being the state champion in his weight class and medal for being in powerlifting, Booster Club Scholarship, track letter and ‘Eye of the Tiger’ award for Track, XC letter and placed 102nd at the state meet. Marion Mexican-Petersen – track letter and a XC letter. Stran Smith – FB letter and Best FB Defense. Hunter Stambach – MVP for Wrestling, track letter and ‘Most Improved Male’ for Track, and FB letter and Best FB Offense. Tyler Stambach – ‘Most Improved’ for Wrestling. Roman Straighthead – Powerlifting medal and a FB letter and ‘Most Improved’ in FB. Riley Tibbs – BB certificate. Tayla Thorstenson – Booster Club Scholarship and VB letter and Best VB Offense.  Treg Thorstenson – ‘Most Dedicated’ in Wrestling. Floyd Traversie – BB letter and FB letter. Ford Traversie – BB letter, BB MVP, FB letter and FB MVP. Natalie Veit – VB letter, BB letter, and Most Improved in BB. RayAnn Ward – VB letter. Armani Woods – BB letter. Marlene Wood-ward – BB letter.


CL Pederson and Tayla Thorstenson each receive a $500 scholarship from the Dupree Athletic Booster Club. Photos by Patty Peacock

Powerlifting Coach Shannon Hinrichs talks about CL Pederson’s accomplishments this year- it was the first year Pederson joined and he won the state champion in his weight class. He also qualified for a national tournament, but the state and national tourney were held just days days apart, Pederson participated in state; however, the amount he lifted would have earned him a national title.

Fellow cheerleader Tristan Little Wounded looks on as Erin Lemke receives a cheerleading award. Photo by Patty Peacock

Dupree Head Wrestling Coach Josh Schrempp presents awards to wrestlers Treg Thorstenson, Hunter Stambach, and Tyler Stambach. Photo by Patty Peacock

Dupree volleyball players beam as they receive their awards. (L-R): McKenna Dupris, Chloe Dupree, Sierra Eaton, and Megan Hinrichs. Photo by Patty Peacock