Saturday, September 18, 2021

Mesonet at SD State Eagle Butte realtime weather web widget

Dewey County Democratic Party elects new officers at May meeting

Six officers were elected during the first order of new business during the Dewey County Democratic Party meeting held on May 8. Before the election, long-serving Chairwoman Michelle Fredericks DuBray and Vice-Chair Sharon Lee encouraged everyone to run for the open positions and shared their support for the new leaders. The following individuals were elected and will serve two-year terms for the county party:

Chair – Carl Petersen

Vice-Chair – Eileen Briggs

Treasurer – Michelle C Fredericks DuBray

Secretary – Sharon Lee

Committee Woman – Alaina Beautiful Bald Eagle

Committee Man – Remi Beautiful Bald Eagle

After the elections, new Chairman Carl Petersen and Vice-Chair Eileen Briggs presided over the meeting. Special guest Pamela Cole from Dakotans for Health gave a presentation about her organization’s effort to expand Medicaid in South Dakota and the positive impacts Medicaid expansion would have on Native Americans residing on and off reservations.

Following discussions, the county party committed to holding petition drives on Cheyenne River with the goal of getting Medicaid expansion on the statewide ballot in November 2022. For more information about Dakotans for Health, email

Other issues discussed during the meeting were candidate recruitment, legislative updates, organizing, and voter registration drives. The group also heard an update about the Oceti Sakowin Caucus of South Dakota, the Indigenous-led arm of the South Dakota Democratic Party.

The next Dewey County Democratic Party meeting will be Saturday, June 5, 2021, at 9:30 a.m. MDT via Zoom and telephone. Detailed information for the meeting can be found on the Dewey County Democratic Party group Facebook page. Questions can be directed to party Chair Carl Petersen at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *