Saturday, July 20, 2019

Eagle Butte

Cheyenne River athletes receive honors at Dakota Oyate Challenge

Athletes from Takini, C-EB and Tiospaye Topa packed up their gear and traveled to Huron, SD this past weekend for the DOC.

The DOC, or Dakota Oyate Challenge, Tournament took place Saturday, Jan. 24 – Jan. 26 at the Huron Arena.

This year marks the 31st annual boys’ tournament, and the 26th annual girls’ tournament.

According to an article in the Lakota Times, by Tom Crash, the DOC originated in 1989 as the Class B All Indian Tournament, but according to Silas Blaine, superintendent and DOC Board Chair, “Athletic directors from Crazy Horse School/Chuck Brewer, Crow Creek/Kim Bierle and Wakpala/Silas Blaine planned out the first All Indian Tournament, all three had tried to get into the Lakota Nation Invitational, but it was always full so we created our own.”

The tournament grew to host as many as 16 boys’ and girls’ teams, but that proved to be beyond Huron’s capacity, and is currently held to 8 teams for boys and girls.

The tournament, although smaller than LNI, includes a three-point shoot-out and free throw competition, as well as competitions for cheer squads, handgames and archery.

Students all had the chance to attend a College Career Day, and all participants were recognized at a grand entry held on Saturday of the annual event. 


TTS Basketball Player Jordan Hill, Cheerleader Kaitlyn Smith and Basketball Player Kolbi Iron Wing won All-tourney honors at the DOC Tournament this past weekend. Facebook photo

Takini athletes Nolan Two Dogs and Teylor Albers received the honors of All-Tourney during the Dakota Oyate Challenge. Facebook photo