Sunday, January 20, 2019

Eagle Butte

Academic excellence honored

The Lila Waste’ Chapter of National Honor Society (NHS) conducted their annual ceremony and banquet to celebrate the induction of new members to Honor Society.   

New members were welcomed  with a candlelight ceremony during which time they learned the four pillars of the National Honor Society:  Character, Scholarship, Leadership, and Service.   

Lakota Teacher Emanuel Red Bear said the prayer for the meal, and Jay Cook, C-EB combined school board president spoke to the group. 

At the conclusion of the program, junior officers and C-EB NHS Adviser and History and Government Teacher Doug Petersen, honored senior members with a medallion.

Founded in 1921 by the The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP), according to the website.

The orginazation went from the originating member, Fifth Avenue School in Pittsburg, PA to more than 1,000 chapters by 1930.

“Four main purposes have guided chapters of NHS from the beginning: to create enthusiasm for scholarship; to stimulate a desire to render service; to promote leadership; and to develop character in the students of secondary schools. These purposes also translate into the criteria used for membership selection in each local chapter,” the website indicates.

NHS is nationally prestigious, and member students are eligible for scholarship opportunities and receive special notice from colleges for their academic acheivments and their leadership skills within their schools and communities.

“Encourage your student to strive to become an NHS member—to make an impact, not just for himself or herself, but for the community and the world,” the website says, because the organization can help students envision a future that includes them making the world a better place for everyone. 

The National Honor Society Members of the Cheyenne-Eagle Butte Chapter gather outside the dining hall after the induction ceremony for the incoming members, and the medal ceremony for graduating members. Pictured in the back row are Andre Eberhard (inductee), Reese Ganje (inductee), Laryn Clown, Honesty Eberhard, Miranda Vines (inductee), Luis Torres, Harley Neigel, Curtis Petersen, Kiana Logg, Taycen LeCompte (inductee), Logan Lawrence (inductee), Carissa Stocklin (inductee), and Shenelle Widow (inductee); pictured in the middle row are Chantelle Sheppard (inductee), Bryanna Ducheneaux-Clown, Jessica Berndt, Ranger Gunville, Kellyn Circle Eagle, Jayda Farlee, Rian Logg, Jordana Red Bear (inductee), Braxton Jewett (inductee), Sapphire Tiger (inductee), Tori Jensen, Mia Paris (inductee), Markee Shaving (inductee); and kneeling in front are Dominique Miner (President) and Christian Buffalo. Submitted photo